New Strength in Old Traditions

在传统中寻找力量

Over the past decades, extensive deforestation has been carried out by Hani ethnic communities in Xishuangbanna for tea and rubber plantations, whereas in Honghe Prefecture, traditional land use has meant that watershed areas have been relatively well preserved. But as the younger generation work elsewhere for cash, terraced fields that have endured for generations are being left idle. How can the Hani find a balance between economic development and preservation of tradition?

Since 2016, PCD and Yunnan Provincial Institute for Ethnic Studies at Yunnan Minzu University have been developing a platform with Hani villagers and local officials. It operates on the idea that creating a favourable foundation for collaboration is the essential starting point, followed by a period for reflection, then problem-solving, and finally action, perhaps making sustainable development plans or implementing them.

In Xishuangbanna, our partners and local youth have observed ecological changes in the community together. Hani youngsters have become aware of what had happened in the community in the past: forests cleared for tea and rubber plantations for economic gain, opinions of the elderly were ignored, traditional culture dismissed, and ecological preservation undermined. Guided by village elders to rehabilitate bird habitats, youngsters have been learning the philosophy and wisdom of their ancestors on forest and mountain ecology and on indigenous ways of living. It has been the Hani village elders who have been keeping these traditions alive, and through this intergenerational connection, youngsters have reflected and are becoming prouder of their home village, its identity and its culture. They are also aware of the threats of ecological and cultural destruction.

It is our belief that by restoring traditions, culture and ecology can also be changed and improved. In Baka Village, it has been well noted that the Hani village leadership and management system could be improved to meet current needs. Middle-aged persons,youngsters and women were therefore invited to consider being members of the typically elder-led leadership system: nine respected villagers have since been elected as leaders, giving a new life to the structure. By March 2018, the Hani villages of Baka and Guangming in Jinghong Municipality of Xishuangbanna collectively made decisions to change land use principles: transforming a 350-acre rubber plantation into a forest in Baka, and a 200-acre paddy into a bird habitat in Guangming.

In Honghe, a holy mountain protects the water source and, traditionally, the population honours this mountain with an annual festival. However, with the trend of people leaving the area to work elsewhere, reverence for nature has been dwindling. This has motivated Hani communities from Honghe and Xishuangbanna to come together through exchange visits and discuss these issues. Xishuangbanna people have learned traditional ceremonies and customs from Honghe people, who in turn have seen that Xishuangbanna communities are relatively cleaner and more vibrant due to their collective efforts. Hani in both places are now more aware of the value of their traditional culture, feel empowered by their roots, and express more confidence in facing challenges.

Such development – that takes care of people’s livelihoods as well as the ecology and culture – is a sustainable development.

(from Annual Report 2017-2018

 

传统知识学习与创新(最新故事)

Share

在传统中寻找力量

在传统中寻找力量

在过去数十年,居住在西双版纳的哈尼族社区砍伐了大量的自然林,用于发展橡胶和茶叶,而红河流域的哈尼族虽然比较完好的保留了传统土地利用的格局和文化景观,但年轻人外出打工挣钱,祖祖辈辈留下来的梯田无人承继。如何在“发展经济”与“保护传统”之间找到平衡,是摆在哈尼族人面前的挑战。

自2016年开始,我们与云南民族大学云南省民族研究所的伙伴一起,提供了一个平台,透过“氛围营造-引发反思-带来行动”的思路,让哈尼族村民与当地相关政府官员一起分析问题的原因,共同探讨解决办法,规划当地可持续发展的途径,并付诸实践。

在西双版纳,伙伴与社区的青年人一起观察社区生态的变化。青年人透过恢复鸟类栖息地等行动,认识到祖先对森林的布局和管理有一整套理解和智慧,这些智慧保护着山区的生态和当地族人的生存环境,而维系这一传统的正是社区的老年人。青年人开始反思并有了转化:过去,因为单纯考虑经济的发展,人们砍伐森林,改为种植经济效益更高的茶叶和橡胶,社区不再重视老年人的意见,不再看重自己的传统文化,漠视生态的保护;现在,青年人对自己的身份和文化感到自豪,也意识到生态破坏和文化丢
失的威胁。

社区认为,只有恢复一些传统机制,才有可能恢复文化和生态。在坝卡村,社区选举了九位德高望重的村民作为寨老,恢复了本地的寨老架构。但社区也看到,必须改善和创新传统的管理机制,才能适应当下需要,于是在寨老管寨的基础上增加了中年人、青年人和妇女的角色。到2018年3月底为止,西双版纳的两个项目村坝卡和光明成功地达成了集体决定:以生态友好的原则,重新规划土地。一个村子决定移除350亩橡胶林的种植,逐步以天然林代替;另一个村决定保留200亩水田作为鸟类栖息地。

在红河州,哈尼族有世代耕种的梯田、有维系水源的护寨神山、有每年祭祀神山的传统,但青年人因为离开家乡外出打工,敬畏自然之心渐渐淡薄。为此,红河和西双版纳两地的哈尼族人开展了对话和互访,西双版纳的村民向红河村民了解传统仪式的习俗,红河的村民一方面对自己保留了哈尼文化感到骄傲,同时看到哈尼族社区开展各种活动,社区既干净又热闹。红河的村民意识到,要共同重新梳理传统文化,关心公共问题,让社区重新恢复活力。

两个地区的哈尼族人都意识到传统文化的价值,社区在传统中获得了力量,也找到应对当下难题的答案。这种既兼顾生计又考虑到生态和文化的发展方向,也许正是当地人所追求的可持续生活方式。

(摘自《社区伙伴年报 2017-2018》)

 

传统知识学习与创新(最新故事)